Shroud me in poplin – poem

by suleimanharuna


Shroud me in poplin

Shroud me in poplin

Then tear the earth

And drop me in

For that is my hearth

Forget my laurels

My mansions and cars

Or my females

Forget my past

Shroud me in poplin

Then tear the earth

And drop me in

For that is my hearth

Forget my jokes-after-grill

My post-prandial delectation

My oratory skill

And my patience

Shroud me in poplin

Then tear the earth

And drop me in

For that is my hearth

Don’t cry over me

For, I know my home

And that’s where I’ll be

Till you all come

Shroud me in poplin

Then tear the earth

And drop me in

For that is my hearth

My body’s just a form

And not a substance

A grub for the worm

At burials instance

Shroud me in poplin

Then tear the earth

And drop me in

For that is my hearth

Tell Zainab to chill

And the kids

That life’s a frill

An unpaid bill

Shroud me in poplin

Then tear the earth

And drop me in

For that is my hearth

PS

From God we come and unto Him is our return.

